• STAY CONNECTED

Lindon Justice Court


Judge Brent W. Bullock 
Lindon City Justice Court Judge 

COURT HEARINGS ARE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY - Call  the Court Clerk to schedule an appointment

Court is held on Wednesdays only and starts promptly at 9:00 A.M.  You may schedule an appointment with the court clerk at (801) 785-1971. The Judge is seen by appointment only. Please don’t be late. Court starts on time.

  • Most criminal violations require an appearance before the Judge.
  • No Insurance, Driving on Suspension, or Driving on Revocation tickets require you to appear before the Judge. 
    (These fines are subject to change at the discretion of the Judge).
  • Court is closed on all major holidays including Pioneer Day (July 24th). 


PAYING COURT FEES

Click Here to Pay Online

Pay in person:

Appear at the Lindon Justice Court located at 100 N State Street, Monday – Friday (excluding most state & national holidays) between the hours of 8 am – 4:30 pm.

Pay by phone:

Payment by credit card can be made over the phone by calling (801) 785-1971, Monday – Friday (excluding most state and national holidays) between the hours of 8 am – 4:30 pm.


TRAFFIC SCHOOL

Do NOT pay your ticket online if you plan to take Traffic School.

The Lindon City Justice Court offers Traffic School for minor traffic violations to those who qualify. Traffic School is available online and has two benefits: it removes the points on your license from the traffic violation, and the traffic violation is dismissed.

If you are interested in Traffic School, you MUST contact the Lindon Justice Court to verify that you qualify. You must register with the Lindon Justice Court before you are allowed to take traffic school. Please note that you may not take Traffic School without first signing up with the court clerk. The cost for Traffic School is $60.00 in addition to the fine for the ticket. Court hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. The court is located at 100 North State Street, Lindon, UT 84042, and can be contacted at (801) 785-1971.

Please note that a Seat Belt Violation, a Vehicle Registration Violation, and a No Insurance or No Proof of Insurance Violation are NOT moving violations and do NOT qualify for Traffic School.

Non-Utah Driver License: If you are licensed to drive in a state other than Utah, you must contact your home state and inquire whether it will recognize a Utah Traffic School Plea in Abeyance and not record the citation on your driving record. Under Utah Law, your home state will be notified of the citation.

Traffic School Eligibility:
Please contact the court for eligibility. Traffic School may be an option if you were cited for a minor moving violation (e.g. speeding, following too closely, failing to stop at a stop sign, etc.). You must appear in person at the court clerk’s office to sign the Plea in Abeyance Agreement for Traffic School and to pay for your citation. You MUST pay for your citation at the same time that you sign up for traffic school.

 *You might qualify for Lindon City Traffic School if you were cited for a moving violation (e.g. speeding, following too closely, etc.) and—

  1. Your driver’s license is currently valid;
  2. You do NOT have a CDL (commercial driver license);
  3. You have NOT had any moving violations in Lindon in the past 6 months;
  4. Your citation is NOT for any offense relating to a traffic accident or to an injury;
  5. You were NOT cited for more than two moving violations;
  6. Your citation has NOT gone delinquent;
  7. Your citation is NOT for any offense that requires a mandatory appearance before the Judge; and
  8. Your citation is NOT for any of the following offenses (list is not exhaustive):
    1. Speeding 21 m.p.h. or more over the speed limit;
    2. Careless Driving or Reckless Driving;
    3. Speed Contest or Exhibition of Speed;
    4. Speeding in a School Zone; or
    5. Any charge involving driving under the influence, impaired driving, etc.

 *Please note that this list is not exhaustive. Please contact the court to verify that you qualify for Traffic School.

If you have not called the court at (801) 785-1971 to pay for your citation please do so before signing up for this traffic school class. This can be done over the phone. If you take traffic school without paying for your citation, you may receive a late fee and a subsequent warrant.

Click here to sign up for Traffic School


FIX-IT-TICKETS
       

Fix-it tickets need to be signed off by an Officer then turned into the court within 14 days of the violation to be eligible for dismissal.  You can submit a fix-it ticket for dismissal, Monday – Friday, from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm. Please contact the court with further questions regarding your fix-it ticket.

 

REGISTRATION VIOLATIONS

If your vehicle was registered at the time of the citation you may be eligible for a dismissal.   You may also be eligible for a dismissal if the registration has been brought current within 14 days of the violation.  Proof of current valid registration along with proof that the registration was paid needs to be provided to the court within 14 days of the violation to be eligible for dismissal. 

If you are not eligible for a dismissal under the terms above, you may be eligible for a $10 credit towards your fine with proof of registration.  You will need to provide proof to the court of your current registration for your credit and pay the remainder of the fine.

If you have questions, you can contact the court at (801) 785-1971.


INSURANCE VIOLATIONS

A violation of No Proof of Insurance can be dismissed when verification in the form of a letter is presented to the court with the following required information:

  • Letter must be on insurance agency letterhead.
  • Current date.
  • Name of insured.  If the name is different than the person who received the citation, the letter must include an explanation indicating that the driver had the permission of the owner and is covered under that policy.
  • Vehicle description (must match the vehicle on the citation).
  • Coverage was in effect on the date and time the citation was issued.
  • Agent’s signature.
  • Citation or case number.

Present this letter in person or mail it to:

         Lindon Justice Court
         100 North Center Street
         Lindon, Ut  84042

If you can provide the above letter, you can also have your agent fax the letter to (801) 785-4336.  If the letter is faxed, you must call the court at (801) 785-1971 to verify that the letter was received.

 

COURT HOUSE RULES

  • No weapons. This includes any sharp or bladed instrument.  Security is not allowed to hold these items for you.  Please leave them at home or in your vehicle.
  • Proper dress is required. No hats, sunglasses, tank tops, shorts, flop flops, or similar articles of clothing. You may be asked to reschedule your hearing if you are not properly dressed.
  • Cell Phones are not allowed in the court, so please leave them in your vehicle. If needed phones can be left with a court clerk during court. All other electronic devices must be turned off. Security may confiscate these items if they are disrupting proceedings or are being used to record without authorization.
  • No photography or recording allowed. Photography and/or recording of proceedings are only allowed upon written prior approval from the Justice Court Judge.
  • No children allowed in the courtroom.
  •  All Courtroom proceedings are recorded.

 

SMALL CLAIMS COURT

The Lindon Justice Court has jurisdiction over small claims cases if the defendant (person being sued) resides in Lindon City or the debt arose within the Lindon City limits.

Small claims can be filed for a claim up to $11,000. The claim must be for actual damages.

The fee to file a small claims case is:

  •  $60 if the claim is less than $2,000
  •  $100 if the claim is for $2,001 – $7,500
  •  $185 if the claim is for $7,501 – $11,000

The court provides the forms needed to file a small claims for $5 or click on the link to obtain them online State Court Website.

After the case is filed with the court, the plaintiff (person filing the claim) is responsible to serve the defendant notice of the suit and the trial date.

 
FINE AND FEE INFORMATION

Court fines and fees are established through recommended guidelines from the Uniform Fine/Bail Schedule. A judge is not obligated to set the fine in the amount listed but can set the fine in an appropriate amount given the facts and circumstances of each case (including the individual’s prior record).

You may contact the court for an estimated fine/fee on your citation.  Please be aware that the estimated cost given to you will be based on the Uniform Fine/Bail Schedule and the information you provide.  Actual amounts of a citation are determined by the violation once it is entered into the court computer system or set by the justice court judge.  Citations may include an accident, delinquent and/or warrant enhancement.

You now have the option to Pay your ticket online here.  If you would like to take advantage of the traffic school option, please contact the Court prior to paying your citation online.

OTHER INFORMATION

Lindon Justice Court Calendar
Frequently asked questions

Most Common Fines
Traffic Tickets: General Information
Legal Resources
Expungement Procedures
Case Flow
Utah State Warrant Search
Grama Request Form
 
CONTACT INFORMATION
 
100 North State Street   
Lindon, UT 84042    
(801) 785-1971      
(801) 785-4336  - Fax

Court Clerk:  Spencer Foster
Assistant Court Clerk: Britni Laidler

Office Hours:

Monday – Friday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Closed Saturday and Sunday

 

Disclaimer


Disclaimer:  Please note the purpose of this website is to provide legal information to the public and should not be considered legal advice. It is up to you (and your attorney) to decide on what legal course to take. The Court and Court Clerks may provide information to you, but they cannot give you any advice on what you should do. If you would like legal advice, please consult the Legal Resources link below.