Traffic tickets (or citations) are issued for various reasons including minor traffic violations such as speeding, running a stop sign, and following too closely. Traffic tickets are issued by the Utah Highway Patrol, the Utah County Sheriff’s Office, and municipal police departments. Traffic tickets can impact the status of your driver’s license and your insurance rates.
Your ticket should indicate the statute or code number of the violation that you are being charged with. If you were cited under state law, you can find the Utah Code online. If you were cited for violating a Lindon City Ordinance, you can find the Lindon City Code here.
More serious violations require a mandatory appearance before the Judge. These include driving under the influence (DUI), impaired driving, no insurance, driving on suspension or revocation, and reckless driving. The court clerk will tell you if the violation requires a court appearance. More minor traffic violations, such as speeding, failure to signal, etc., usually can be paid without a court appearance and might be eligible for Traffic School.
Most traffic offenses are classified as infractions (no imprisonment and fines up to $750) or class C misdemeanors (maximum imprisonment of 90 days and fines up to $750). Some traffic offenses, such as DUI, are classified as more serious offenses that have the possibility of longer terms of imprisonment and higher fines.
The Uniform Fine/Bail Forfeiture Schedule and the Bail Schedule for Justice Courts provide information about the fine or bail for each offense. This is what the judge uses to determine the fine or bail for the offense.
Do NOT pay your ticket online if you plan to take Traffic School.
The Lindon City Justice Court offers Traffic School for minor traffic violations to those who qualify. Traffic School is available online and has two benefits: it removes the points on your license from the traffic violation, and the traffic violation is dismissed.
If you are interested in Traffic School, you MUST contact the Lindon Justice Court to verify that you qualify. You must register in person with the Lindon Justice Court before you are allowed to take traffic school. Please note that you may not take Traffic School without first signing up with the court clerk. The cost for Traffic School is $60.00 in addition to the fine for the ticket. Court hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. The court is located at 100 North State Street, Lindon, UT 84042, and can be contacted at (801) 785-1971.
Please note that a Seat Belt Violation, a Vehicle Registration Violation, and a No Insurance or No Proof of Insurance Violation are NOT moving violations and do NOT qualify for Traffic School.
*You might qualify for Lindon City Traffic School if you were cited for a moving violation (e.g. speeding, following too closely, etc.) and—
*Please note that this list is not exhaustive. Please contact the court to verify that you qualify for Traffic School.
Click Here to access the online traffic school website.